Melvin Jones Award

Melvin Jones Award

Who is Melvin Jones?

In 1917, Melvin Jones, a 38-year-old Chicago business leader, told members of his local business club they should reach beyond business issues and address the betterment of their communities and the world. Jones’ group, the Business Circle of Chicago, agreed.

After contacting similar groups around the United States, an organizational meeting was held on June 7, 1917, in Chicago, Illinois, USA. The new group took the name of one of the invited groups, the “Association of Lions Clubs,” and thus began the rich tradition of service that Lions Clubs are known for around the world.

Lions Club International Foundation and the Melvin Jones Fellowship

Lions around the world are united by a great spirit of giving and dedication to helping others. As the official charitable organization of Lions Clubs International, Lions Clubs International Foundation (LCIF) supports Lions’ compassionate works by providing grant funding for their local and global humanitarian efforts.

A significant portion of the funds raised by LCIF comes through the Melvin Jones Fellowship. Our club honors our most dedicated and generous members with a nomination to the Melvin Jones Fellowship. The nomination is accompanied by a monetary donation from the Elburn Lions Club to LCIF.

February 2012, pictured from left to right: Lion Scott Karas – Melvin Jones recipient, Lion Bill Smar – Lifetime Award recipient, Lion Keith Wilkison – Club President, Lion Phil Gladd – Melvin Jones recipient, Lion Dan Hanneman – Melvin Jones recipient, Lion Chuck Galauner – Melvin Jones recipient.

The Melvin Jones Fellowship is the highest form of recognition that a Lion can receive for their charitable work. As such, it is our privilege to recognize the outstanding contributions of the following Elburn Lions, our club’s Melvin Jones Fellowship recipients.

Thank you, Melvin Jones Fellows, for all you have done for our club and our community!

Our Melvin Jones Fellowship Recipients

2015 Lion Gordy Diershow (progressive)

2015 Lion Ken Gustafson (progressive)

2015 Lion Cindy Halsey

2015 Lion Tom Mahan (progressive)

2015 Lion Kevin Poust

2014 Lion Ron Algrim

2014 Leonard Baumgartner

2014 Lion Bob Burkholder

2014 Lion Pat Purcell

2014 Lion Lee Singer

2013 Lion John van Bogaert

2013 Lion James Michels

2012 Lion Chuck Galauner

2012 Lion Phil Gladd

2012 Lion Dan Hanneman

2012 Lion Scott Karas

2011 Lion Pamela C Hall

2011 Lion Cheryl A Lee

2011 Lion Alan M Lee

2010 Lion Anna L Mainhart

2010 Lion Joseph Kryszak

2010 Lion Doris M Klomhaus

2010 Lion Steven R Hall

2010 Lion Robert J Britz

2008 Lion Stephen Downey

2008 Lion Kelly Callaghan

2007 Richard Williams

2007 Lion Lee Singer

2007 Lion Timothy Klomhaus

2006 Glen Carlson

2006 Lion David Anderson

2005 Lion William P Smar

2004 Dr. James L Willey

2004 Thomas C Whitney

2004 Mary J Liss

2004 Lion Charles L Liss, II

2003 Lion Thomas K Mahan

2003 Lion Lester T Lee

2003 Lion F Chris Halsey

2003 Doris Hall

2003 Lion Kenneth E Gustafson

2002 Lion Donald Zahn

2002 Lion Dennis Schenk

2000 Francis White

2000 Lion Allen Swan

2000 Lion Thomas Kuebelbeck

2000 Lion Martin Drendel

2000 Lion Karen Brewer Cornell

1999 Lion Jeffrey Green

1999 Lion Nicholas Carter

1998 Lion Lawrence Wilkison

1998 Lion Richard Henne

1998 Lion Clifford Strong

1996 Lion Wayne Byerhof

1995 Lion David Rissman

1995 Lion William McCartney

1995 Lion Richard Hall

1995 Lion James Gillett

1995 Lion Janet Callaghan

1995 Lion Dennis A Anderson

1994 Clara Stonecipher

1994 Lion Thomas Reynolds

1994 Lion Beverly Kenyon

1994 Lion Vern Halsey

1994 Lion Gordon Dierschow

1994 Lion Leonard Anderson

1992 Karl Hein Weber

1992 Francis Jamison

1992 Mildred Dahl

1992 Charles Conely

1992 Lion William Callaghan, Jr

1991 Almer Gliddon

1991 Arnold Erickson

Information provided from the Lions International web site and the Lions Club International Foundation web site.